Lithuania GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Lithuania ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Getting started with Lithuania research
(Your text or images here)
During the 14th century, Lithuania was the largest country in Europe: present-day Belarus, Ukraine, and parts of Poland and Russia were territories of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. In 1569 Poland and Lithuania formed a new state, the Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth. The Commonwealth lasted more than two centuries, until neighboring countries systematically dismantled it from 1772 to 1795, with the Russian Empire annexing most of Lithuania's territory.
- Baltic Genealogical Profile
- Online Vital Records
- Research Guide for Eastern Europe (Lithuania) by BYU
Lithuania, officially the Republic of Lithuania is a country in Northern Europe, the southernmost of the three Baltic states. Situated along the southeastern shore of the Baltic Sea, it shares borders with Latvia to the north, Belarus to the southeast, Poland, and the Russian exclave of Kaliningrad to the southwest. Its capital and the largest city is Vilnius (Vilna). Formerly, Vilnius was a seat of the Vilna Governorate or Government of Vilna, a governorate (guberniya) of the Russian Empire created after the Third Partition of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth in 1795.
Did you know?
(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
- This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 21:21.
- This page has been accessed 14,715 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News