Little Coxwell, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Little Coxwell, Berkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes

Guide to Little Coxwell, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Coxwell, Berkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Farringdon
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Faringdon PLU
Registration District Faringdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1582; For more records see Faringdon
Bishop's Transcripts: 1585
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Faringdon
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COXWELL, LITTLE, a chapelry, in the parish, union, and hundred of Farringdon, county of Berks, 1½ mile (S.) from Farringdon. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Little Coxwell, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Little Coxwell, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1582-1771, 1815-1836 1583-1747
OFHS 1582-1984
1583-1949
1583-1983
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241200.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Little Coxwell a chapelry in Faringdon in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 713-717. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 January 2014.
  3. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 March 2015, at 17:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,066 times.