Little Dunkeld, Perthshire, ScotlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Perthshire Gotoarrow.png Little Dunkeld

Parish #373

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Little Dunkeld. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.

Contents

History

DUNKELD, LITTLE, a parish, in the county of Perth, adjoining Dunkeld, and containing the village of Inver. This parish, which includes the ancient parish of Laganallachy, and is bounded on the north-east by the Tay. The parish church, situated near the south bank of the Tay, was built in 1798, and is a neat plain structure containing 820 sittings. The church of Laganallachy, in the district of Strathbran, has about 450 sittings; and divine service is performed there one Sunday in the month, wholly in the Gaelic language. There is a Roman Catholic chapel attached to Murthly Castle.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Little Dunkeld, as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year
FHL Film Number
Surname Indexes
1841
1042695
none
1851
1042246
941.32 X22p 1851 no. 373
1861
0103894
none
1871
0104076
none
1881
0203508
6086646 (6 fiche)
1891
0208737
none


The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.


Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1759-1854 - baptisms 1040123
Marriages: 1759-1855 - proclamations 1040123
Deaths: No entries none

 

Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: Birth registers are irregular. The entries are out of the order of time, frequently through out. There is an index for the period of1759–1773, after the record for 1819.
Marriages: This record is mainly proclamations. Marriage record prior to November 1806 is intermixed with other matters.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Heads of Families 1836–1842
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/107.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

Dalguise and Strathbraan

History—
Immediately after the Disruption, supply was provided for this district and the church at Dalguise was erected. In 1844 the church at Strathbraan was built. In 1845 Dalguise and Strathbraan were sanctioned as a united charge. A school which was erected at Strathbraan was eventually handed over to the School Board in 1872.
Membership: 1848, 197; 1900, 134.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details are given in the source.

Records—
The extent of pre-1855 records is unknown. No records deposited at the National Archives of Scotland.

Murthly Castle Catholic Chapel Drummond-Stewart Family

History—
This church was founded in 1840, consecrated in 1846 to St. Anthony, and closed in 1871. It was served from Perth until 1870 and from Crieff until it closed.

Records—
Baptisms 1843–1861
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record RH21/40
Also:
Baptisms 1856–1869
Marriages 1857–1866
Note: Available online for a fee, at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk,  Edinburgh, record MP

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Little Dunkeld was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Dunblane until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Dunblane. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog  for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Dunblane.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Perthshire. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Pethshire and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 320-349. Adapted. Date accessed: 15 May 2014.


Return to Perthshire parish list.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 May 2014, at 17:31.
  • This page has been accessed 2,389 times.