Little Easton, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Little Easton, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex EnglandGotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Little Easton, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Easton, Essex
St Mary, Little Easton, Essex .jpg
St Mary, Little Easton, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dunmow
County Essex
Poor Law Union Dunmow PLU
Registration District Dunmow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunmow
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Little Easton or Easton, Little, is a parish, in the union and hundred of Dunmow, N. division of Essex, it is 2½ miles N. W. from Dunmow.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Little Easton, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Little Easton, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1559-1999 1559-1957 1559-1948
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241367.


Poor Law Unions

Dunmow Poor Law Union,Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Little Easton on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 17:41.
  • This page has been accessed 3,726 times.