Little Ilford, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Little Illford, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Little Ilford, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Ilford, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Becontree
County Essex
Poor Law Union West Ham PLU
Registration District West Ham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barking
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Little Ilford or Ilford (Little), is a village and a parish in West Ham district, Essex. The village stands adjacent to the river Roding and to the London and Tilbury railway, it is 3/4 of a mile NE of East Ham railway station, and 3 1/4 miles E by N of Stratford. The parish also contains the village of Green-Hill-Grove.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Little Ilford, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2] and Boyd's London Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[4]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
Little Ilford, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1539-1753 1540-1812
ESSEX 1539-1888 1539-1903 1539-1834
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined
PALL 1790-1812

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office St Mary the Virgin, parish registers and Bishop's transcripts.

See also St Mary's Mission church, St Barnabas Manor Park, St Michael and All Angels Manor Park [Little Ilford] and Manor Park United Reformed Church, Manor Park Wesleyan Methodist church, Romford Road, Little Ilford Methodist Church, Sixth Avenue.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Congregationalist
  • Free Church of England
  • Methodist
  • Reformed Episcopal
  • Roman Catholic
  • Strict Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241361.


Poor Law Unions

West Ham Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Little Ilford on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870) Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  3. 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  4. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  5. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 17:42.
  • This page has been accessed 5,714 times.