Little Wakering, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Little Wakering, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Little Wakering, Essex|
St. Mary the Virgin, Little Wakering, Essex
|Poor Law Union||Rochford PLU|
|Parish registers: 1754|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1629|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Wakering (Little) or Little Wakering (St Mary), is a parish, with four islands, in Rochford district, Essex; it is 4 miles ENE of Southend railway station. The post town is, Great Wakering, under Southend.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Little Wakering, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|Little Wakering, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241375.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Little Wakering on GENUKI
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
- This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 17:47.
- This page has been accessed 3,726 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News