Littleover, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Littleover, Derbyshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow PLU
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish records: 1680; For more records see Mickleover
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Radbourne
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Littleover St Peter was originally a parochial chapelry in Mickleover, Derbyshire Ancient Parish which became a separate parish in 1866. The parish boudaries were adjusted in the 1970-1981 period.

LITTLEOVER, a chapelry, in the parish of Mickleover, union of Shardlow, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, county of Derby, 2 miles (S. W. by S.) from Derby. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Littleover became part of Derby reistration district in 1938.

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Church records

FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
Littleover St Peter (1680) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1681-1908 1680-1912 1681-1883
FREG 1680-1812 None 1680-1813 None 1680-1812 None

Littleover St Peter marriages for 1821-1844 can be found in the Mickleover, Derbyshire marriage registers

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 2728, D 3288  has deposited registers Bap 1680-1807, 1740-1963 Mar 1680-1707,  1741-1821, 1845-1979 Burials 1680-1807, 1740-1963 Banns 1757-1780, 1846-1981

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241293.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 101-104. Date accessed: 10 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 21:41.
  • This page has been accessed 774 times.