Liverpool St Andrew, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Liverpool St Andrew, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapel History

LIVERPOOL (St Andrew), Renshaw Street was created a chapel of ease in 1815 from and lying within the boundaries of Liverpool St Peter and St Nicholas Ecclesiastical Parish. The building is a neat edifice, with a turret surmounted by a dome supported by eight columns. [1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records 

Online transcriptions exist for Liverpool St Andrew's Chapel registers as well as for Liverpool's ancient parish of St Nicholas' baptism, marriage and burial registers. Displayed below are those links to online data for both this chapelry and for the ancient parish of St Nicholas located in the following websites; note the ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
LIVERPOOL ST ANDREW Chapelry (1774) Indexes - also see Aigburth's chapelries
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1815-1874 1851-1892 1774-1812
LOPC 1875-1904  None None
LBMD None 1851-1935 None
LIVERPOOL ST NICHOLAS PARISH (1604) Indexes 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1604-1894 1604-1911  1779-1787;1809-1825
LOPC 1776-1865 1788-1838 1776-1854
LBMD None 1837-1939 None
AC  1659-1812 1659-1812 1659-1812

To view a full list for all of Liverpool Parish’s (nearly 60) chapelries, ecclesiastical churches, and district chapels, and to view online baptism, marriage and burial transcription indexes, visit the LIVERPOOL ST PETER & ST NICHOLAS PARISH page.

Original Records

Liverpool St Andrew's Chapelry (parish) registers are held at the Liverpool Record Office as follows:

Parish registers, 1815-1904 Church of England. St. Andrew's Church (Liverpool, Lancashire) Microfilm copy of original records at the Liverpool Record Office, Central Library, Liverpool.Liverpool Record Office no.: 283 AND 2/1-2, 3/1-2, 4/1.

These registers have also been microfilmed by FamilySearch and they are available through its 4600 FamilySearch Centers worldwide as follows:

Baptisms, 1815-1874; Marriages, 1851-1892. FHL BRITISH Film
1656148 Items 3 - 5
Baptisms, 1874-1904. FHL BRITISH Film 2147907 Item 4
Burials, 1816. FHL BRITISH Film 1656149 Item 1

Known Issue Batch 103376-6 Source film 1656149 has been found to contain entries of marriages for Liverpool St Anne, Lancashire with the place of marriage listed as St Andrew. Both parishes are contained on film 1656149.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438717.


Poor Law Unions

Liverpool, Lancashire Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-118. Date accessed: 01 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,114 times.