Llandawg, CarmarthenshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngLlandawg

A guide to genealogy in Llandawg, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llandawg (or Llandawke) is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

LLANDAWKE (LLAN-DAWK), a parish, in the higher division of the hundred of DERLLYS, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 1 mile (W. by N.) from Laugharne. This parish, situated on the road from Laugharne to Tenby, and mostly surrounded by the parishes of Laugharne and Llansadwrnen, comprises by computation about 600 acres, of which 100 are woodland, and of the remainder two-thirds are arable, and one third pasture; the surface is rather hilly, and the nature of the soil clay; the chief agricultural produce is wheat and barley, and the timber grown, principally larch and Scotch fir; it consists only of two farms. The church, dedicated to St. Margaret Marlos, is not distinguished by any architectural features of importance; it is a very small building, 33 feet in length and 17 in breadth.[1]

For more information on Llandawg see Llandawg at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464309.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 14 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 January 2014, at 19:53.
  • This page has been accessed 263 times.