Llangan, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A guide to genealogy in Llangan, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
LLANGAN (LLAN-GAN), a parish, in the union of NARBERTH, chiefly in the lower division of the hundred of DERLLYS, county of CARMARTHEN, but partly in the hundred of DUNGLEDDY, county of PEMBROKE, SOUTH WALES, 16 miles (W.) from Carmarthen. On the banks of the Tâf, in this parish, anciently stood the famous Ty Gwyn ar Dâf, or "the White House on the Tâf," an occasional residence of Hywel Dda, sovereign of all Wales. The parish is pleasantly situated on the river Tâf, and intersected by the old Whitland road from Carmarthen to Haverfordwest; it comprehends a large tract of arable and pasture land, the whole of which, with a very small exception, is inclosed and in a good state of cultivation. The church, dedicated to St. Canna, is a neat modern edifice, rebuilt in the year 1820, and consisting of a nave and chancel. There are two Sunday schools, in which children are taught gratuitously by the Independents. 
For more information on Llangan see Llangan at Genuki.
|before 31 March 1974||Carmarthenshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Dyfed|
|from 1 April 1996||Carmarthenshire|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464343.
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Llangan at Vision of Britain.
- This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
- This page has been accessed 972 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News