Llanycrwys, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngLlanycrwys

A guide to genealogy in Llanycrwys, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanycrwys is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

LLANYCRWYS (LLAN-Y-CRWYS), a parish, in the union of LAMPETER, partly in the upper division of the hundred of CAYO, and partly in the upper division of that of CATHINOG, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 4 miles (E.S.E.) from Lampeter. This parish, which is situated near the river Cothy, and separated from the parish of Cayo by the small river Twrch, which flows near the church, comprises, in addition to an extensive tract of common, a large portion of arable and pasture land, inclosed and in a good state of cultivation. The surface is varied, and the surrounding scenery is agreeably diversified; the adjacent country is mountainous, and the views from the higher grounds embrace objects rather of striking boldness than of pleasing or picturesque beauty. The soil is favourable to the growth of corn and hay, of both which the land yields abundant crops. The church, dedicated to St. David, is not distinguished by any architectural details of importance. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

For more information on Llanycrwys see Llanycrwys at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464307.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 14 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 799 times.