Llanafan, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llanafan, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlanafan

A guide to genealogy in Llanafan, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanafan is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

LLANAVAN (LLAN-AVAN), a parish in the upper division of the hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 8 miles (S.E.) from Aberystwith. This parish, which derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Avan, is pleasantly situated on the river Ystwith, which at this place forms a fine bold curve, and is enriched on both its banks with pleasingly varied and highly picturesque scenery: a neat modern stone bridge has been erected over this river. Within the parish is Cross Wood, the seat of the Earl of Lisburne. There is a place of worship for Calvinistic Methodists, with a Sunday school held in it.[1]

For more information see Llanafan at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464303.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 478-493. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 January 2014, at 18:40.
  • This page has been accessed 299 times.