Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, WrexhamEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
The parish takes its name from St. Garmon (Latin: Germanus) and, to distinguish it from other parishes of the same name, its location, Dyffryn Ceiriog (English: Ceiriog Valley), has been added.
The parish comprises the townships of Tre'rllan, Llowarch and Lloran. For more information see Llanarmon Dryffryn Cieriog, Denbighshire at genuki.org.uk
|before 31 March 1974||Denbighshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Clwyd|
|from 1 April 1996||Wrexham|
Births, marriages and deaths in Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog are recorded in the GRO indexes as:
|1 Jul 1837 - 1880||Corwen||Corwen|| XXVII (1837-51)|
|1880 - 2 Oct 1935||Llangollen||Corwen||11b (1852-1935)|
|2 Oct 1935 - 1974||Llangollen||Wrexham|| 11b (1935-1946)|
The following Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Records Office in Ruthin:
|Baptisms:||1625 - 1991|
|Marriages:||1624 - 1970|
|Burials:||1750 - 1927|
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464319. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
The parish of Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog formed part of the Corwen Registrar's District.
|1841||HO107/1399 Book 5 folio 1 - Book 7 folio 11|
|1851||HO107/2509 folios 616-633|
|1861||RG9/4313 folios 64-70|
|1871||RG10/5684 folios 32-44|
|1881||RG11/5541 folios 116-130|
|1891||RG12/4638 folios 112-122|
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog Parish Church at Clwyd FHS
- Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog Parish Church at CPAT.
- This page was last modified on 18 June 2013, at 18:08.
- This page has been accessed 1,003 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More