Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, WrexhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngWrexhamGotoarrow.pngLlanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog

Eglwys llanarmon dc.png
Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog is a village and ecclesiastical parish in the rural Ceiriog valley in the County Borough of Wrexham in Wales. It forms part of the community of Ceiriog Ucha, together with Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Denbighshire and, between 1874 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern County Borough of Wrexham.

Contents

History

The parish takes its name from St. Garmon (Latin: Germanus) and, to distinguish it from other parishes of the same name, its location, Dyffryn Ceiriog (English: Ceiriog Valley), has been added.

The parish comprises the townships of Tre'rllan, Llowarch and Lloran. For more information see Llanarmon Dryffryn Cieriog, Denbighshire at genuki.org.uk

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Denbighshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Wrexham

Records

Civil Records

Births, marriages and deaths in Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog are recorded in the GRO indexes as:

Years Sub-district District Volumes
1 Jul 1837 - 1880 Corwen Corwen XXVII (1837-51)
11b (1852-1880)
1880 - 2 Oct 1935 Llangollen Corwen 11b (1852-1935)
2 Oct 1935 - 1974 Llangollen Wrexham 11b (1935-1946)
8A (1946-74)

Church Records

The following Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Records Office in Ruthin:

Baptisms: 1625 - 1991
Marriages: 1624 - 1970
Burials: 1750 - 1927

The Clwyd Family History Society have published several volumes of the Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceirog parish registers.

The IGI includes some transcriptions of Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceirog parish registers.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464319.


The parish of Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog formed part of the Corwen Registrar's District.

Year Parts
1841 HO107/1399 Book 5 folio 1 - Book 7 folio 11
1851 HO107/2509 folios 616-633
1861 RG9/4313 folios 64-70
1871 RG10/5684 folios 32-44
1881 RG11/5541 folios 116-130
1891 RG12/4638 folios 112-122
1901 RG13/

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,687 times.