Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr, PowysEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
"LLANARMON MYNYDD MAWR, A parish in the Cynlleth and Mochnant division of the hundred of Chirk, county of Denbigh; 10 miles (W.) from Oswestry, containing 164 inhabitants. ... The church, dedicated to St. Germanus, was formerly a chapel of ease to the mother church of Llanrhaiadr, only a mile and a half distant."
[A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]
Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr was once part of the parish of Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant. For more information on Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr see:
- Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr at Genuki
|before 31 March 1974||Denbighshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Clwyd|
|from 1 April 1996||Powys|
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464319. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr at Vision of Britain
- Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr Parish Church at Clwyd FHS
- This page was last modified on 18 June 2013, at 18:09.
- This page has been accessed 339 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More