Llanarmon yn Iâl, DenbighshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A parish in the Union of Ruthin, partly in the hundred of Maelor, county of Flint, but chiefly in that of Yale, county of Denbigh; 4½ miles (E by S) from Ruthin, containing 1475 inhabitants. The village is pleasantly situated on the river Alyn. ..... The Church, dedicated to St. Germanus, or Garmon, is a large plain edifice... within a niche in the outer wall of the chruch is the figure of a bishop, six feet four inches in height, which is said to be that of St. Germanus, Bixhop of Auxerre, who, with St. Lupus, gaind over the Picts and Saxons, and maes Garmon near mold, in the years 420 the celebrated victory called by historians Victoria Alleluiatica. [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]
For more information on Llanarmon yn Iâl see:
- Llanarmon yn Iâl at Genuki
|before 31 March 1974||Denbighshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Clwyd|
|from 1 April 1996||Denbighshire|
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 104272. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Llanarmon yn Iâl at Vision of Britain
- This page was last modified on 18 June 2013, at 18:11.
- This page has been accessed 325 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More