Llanarth, CeredigionEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A guide to genealogy in Llanarth, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
Llanarth is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.
LLANARTH (LLAN-ARTH), a parish in the hundred of MOYTHEN, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 13 miles(N.W. by W.) from Lampeter, consisting of two divisions, North and South. This parish, which is of considerable extent, is pleasantly situated on the turnpike road leading from Cardigan to Aberystwith, and is intersected by the river Llethy, which falls into Cardigan bay at Llanina. The Earl of Richmond, afterwards Henry VII., on the second night after his landing at Milford Haven encamped his forces at Wern Newydd, in this neighbourhood, where he was hospitably entertained by Einon ab Davydd Llwyd, on his route through this county to Bosworth Field. The church, dedicated to St. Vylltyg, is a venerable structure, consisting of a nave and chancel, with a lofty and substantial tower, and is situated on the declivity of a high hill. There are places of worship for Independents, Calvinistic Methodists, and Wesleyans.
For more information see Llanarth at Genuki.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464304.
Maps and Gazetteers
- Llanarth at Vision of Britain
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
- This page has been accessed 897 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News