Llanarthne, CarmarthenshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A guide to genealogy in Llanarthne, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
LLANARTHNEY (LLAN-ARTHNEU), a parish, in the hundred of ISCENNEN, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 6 3/4 miles (W. by S.) from Llandilo-Vawr, and 7 1/2 (E.) from Carmarthen. This parish is pleasantly situated on the south bank of the river Towy. It comprises by measurement about 11,000 acres, nearly all inclosed, and comprehends a considerable part of the mountain of Mawr, and a large tract of arable and pasture land. The village, through which passes the turnpike-road from Carmarthen to Llandilo-Vawr, is surrounded by a profusion of the richest and most picturesque scenery; situated on the south bank of the Towy, on one of the finest reaches of that beautiful river, it appears to be entirely inclosed by lofty eminences of singularly diversified aspect. Myddleton Hall, originally the property of David, brother of Sir Hugh Myddleton, and subsequently that of the late Sir William Paxton, who built the present mansion, occupies an eminence at a short distance from the vale. The church, dedicated to St David, is a neat plain edifice, with a low square tower, but presents no architectural details of importance. There is a place of worship for Baptists; the Calvinistic Methodists have two places of worship. There were formerly two chapels of ease, of which one is now in ruins, and the other occupied by a congregation of dissenters.
For more information on Llanarthne see Llanarthne at Genuki.
|before 31 March 1974||Carmarthenshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Dyfed|
|from 1 April 1996||Carmarthenshire|
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464311. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Llanarthne at Vision of Britain.
- This page was last modified on 14 January 2014, at 20:27.
- This page has been accessed 331 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More