Llanarthne, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngLlanarthne

A guide to genealogy in Llanarthne, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanarthne is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

LLANARTHNEY (LLAN-ARTHNEU), a parish, in the hundred of ISCENNEN, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 6 3/4 miles (W. by S.) from Llandilo-Vawr, and 7 1/2 (E.) from Carmarthen. This parish is pleasantly situated on the south bank of the river Towy. It comprises by measurement about 11,000 acres, nearly all inclosed, and comprehends a considerable part of the mountain of Mawr, and a large tract of arable and pasture land. The village, through which passes the turnpike-road from Carmarthen to Llandilo-Vawr, is surrounded by a profusion of the richest and most picturesque scenery; situated on the south bank of the Towy, on one of the finest reaches of that beautiful river, it appears to be entirely inclosed by lofty eminences of singularly diversified aspect. Myddleton Hall, originally the property of David, brother of Sir Hugh Myddleton, and subsequently that of the late Sir William Paxton, who built the present mansion, occupies an eminence at a short distance from the vale. The church, dedicated to St David, is a neat plain edifice, with a low square tower, but presents no architectural details of importance. There is a place of worship for Baptists; the Calvinistic Methodists have two places of worship. There were formerly two chapels of ease, of which one is now in ruins, and the other occupied by a congregation of dissenters.[1]

For more information on Llanarthne see Llanarthne at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464311.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 14 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 718 times.