Llanbadarn Odwyn, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlanbadarn Odwyn

A guide to genealogy in Llanbadarn Odwyn, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanbadarn Odwyn is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

LLANBADARN-ODWYNNE (LLAN-BADARN-ODYN), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of PENARTH, county of CARDIGAN,SOUTH WALES, 9 miles (N.N.E.) from Lampeter. This parish, which derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Paternus and its distinguishing adjunct from its conspicuous position on the summit of a lofty eminence, is situated near the river Aêron and from the higher grounds is obtained a fine view of the Vale of Aêron, which abounds with pleasing and richly varied scenery. It formerly constituted a prebend in the collegiate church of Llandewy-Brevi, founded by Thomas Beck, Bishop of St. David's. The church is a small edifice, consisting only of a nave and chancel, situated on a lofty eminence ; and from the churchyard is an interesting view of the vale beneath, and an extensive prospect over the surrounding country. There is a place of worship for Calvinistic Methodists, which is the largest dissenting place of worship in South Wales.[1]

For more information see Llanbadarn Odwyn at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 478-493. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 581 times.