Llanddeiniol, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llanddeiniol, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlanddeiniol

A guide to genealogy in Llanddeiniol, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanddeiniol is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion. Llanddeiniol

Contents

History

LLANDDEINIOL (LLAN-DDEINIOL), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 7 miles (S. by W.) from Aberystwith. This parish, which derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Daniel, is situated on the shore of Cardigan bay, and on the turnpike road from Aberystwith to Cardigan. From a small brook near it, which runs into the river Gwyre, it was anciently called Carog, under which appellation it formerly constituted a prebend in the collegiate church of Llandewy-Brevi. The surrounding scenery is not characterized by any peculiarity of features, though from the higher grounds an extensive view is obtained over the bay of Cardigan and the country adjacent. The church, which is pleasantly situated on the brow of a hill, is a small ancient edifice, consisting only of a nave, divided by a double screen into two parts, the eastern of which forms a chancel. There is a place of worship for Calvinistic Methodists; and two Sunday schools are held.[1]

For more information see Llanddeiniol Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464302.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 505-511. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 594 times.