Llanddeiniol, CeredigionEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A guide to genealogy in Llanddeiniol, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
LLANDDEINIOL (LLAN-DDEINIOL), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 7 miles (S. by W.) from Aberystwith. This parish, which derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Daniel, is situated on the shore of Cardigan bay, and on the turnpike road from Aberystwith to Cardigan. From a small brook near it, which runs into the river Gwyre, it was anciently called Carog, under which appellation it formerly constituted a prebend in the collegiate church of Llandewy-Brevi. The surrounding scenery is not characterized by any peculiarity of features, though from the higher grounds an extensive view is obtained over the bay of Cardigan and the country adjacent. The church, which is pleasantly situated on the brow of a hill, is a small ancient edifice, consisting only of a nave, divided by a double screen into two parts, the eastern of which forms a chancel. There is a place of worship for Calvinistic Methodists; and two Sunday schools are held.
For more information see Llanddeiniol Genuki.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464302. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Maps and Gazetteers
- Llanddeiniol at Vision of Britain
- This page was last modified on 17 January 2014, at 19:16.
- This page has been accessed 243 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More