Llandyfrïog, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llandyfrïog, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlandyfrïog

A guide to genealogy in Llandyfrïog, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llandyfrïog is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Dyffryn Teifi in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

LLANDYVRÎOG (LLAN-DYVRÎOG), a parish in the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 1½ mile (E.) from Newcastle- Emlyn. This parish, which derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Tyvriog, an eminent British saint who lived towards the close of the sixth century, is pleasantly situated on the northern bank of the river Teivy, and on the turnpike road from Newcastle-Emlyn to Lampeter. The church, dedicated to St. Tyvrîog, is an ancient edifice, not distinguished by any features of importance.[1]

For further information see Llandyfrïog at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records 

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 536-559. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 January 2014, at 17:11.
  • This page has been accessed 428 times.