Llandygwydd, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llandygwydd, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlandygwydd

A guide to genealogy in Llandygwydd, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llandygwydd is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales. The village is in the community of Beulah.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

LLANDYGWYDD (LLAN-DYGWYDD), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 7 miles (N. W.) from Newcastle-Emlyn. This parish is pleasantly situated in the south-western part of the county, on the banks of the river Teivy, and is intersected by the turnpike roads from Cardigan to Newcastle-Emlyn, only four miles distant from the former, though the latter is the post town. The church, dedicated to St. Ogwydd, as appears from the name so engraved on the old silver communion cup, is a neat modern edifice, built on the former site about the commencement of the present century. There were two chapels of ease; one at Neuadd, of which some vestiges may still be traced in a field called Parc-y-Capel; and the other near Cenarth bridge, which has totally disappeared, the site having been leveled in the formation of the turnpike-road. The Independents and the Calvinistic Methodists have each a place of worship.[1]

For more information see Llandygwydd at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 536-559. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 645 times.