Llandysilio, DenbighshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
For the village of the same name in Powys see Llandysilio
Llandysilio (or in full, Llandysilio yn Iâl) is a community in Denbighshire, Wales. The community includes the site of Valle Crucis Abbey and the Horseshoe Pass, and also includes the villages of Pentredwr and Rhewl.
The (grammatically incorrect) spelling Llantysilio is often seen.
"LLANDYSILIO, or LLANTYSILIO, a parish in the district of Corwen and county of Denbigh; on the river Dee, 2 miles N W of Llangollen r. station. It comprises the townships of Coedwrg, Cymmo, Llandynam, and Maesrychen; and its Post town is Llangollen. Acres, 7,919. Real property, £5,013. Pop. in 1851,1,019; in 1861, 1,129. Houses, 223. Llandysilio Hall is a chief residence. The beautiful ruins of Valle Crucis abbey are here..." [Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales,1870-72, John Marius Wilson]
For more information see Llantysilio, Denbighshire at genuki.org.uk
|before 31 March 1974||Denbighshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Clwyd|
|from 1 April 1996||Denbighshire|
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464322. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Maps and Gazetteers
- This page was last modified on 21 June 2013, at 16:24.
- This page has been accessed 403 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More