Llandysul, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llandyssil, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.png Llandysul

A guide to genealogy in Llandysul, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...

Llandysul is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in the valley of the Afon Teifi in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

LLANDYSSIL (LLAN-DYSUL), a parish, partly in the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, and partly in that of MOYTHEN, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 8 miles (E) from Newcastle Emlyn, on the road to Lampeter. This place derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Tysilio, an eminent British saint who flourished during the earlier part of the sixth century. It is situated in the southern part of the county, bordering upon Carmarthenshire, and comprises nearly twenty-five thousand acres of land, forming two principal divisions, called respectively Llandyssil Is Cerdin and Llandyssil Uwch Cerdin, of which the former is in the hundred of Troedyraur, and the latter in that of Moythen. There are places of worship for Independents, Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists, Baptists, and Unitarians.[1]

For more information on Llandysul see Genuki - Llandysul

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Cardiganshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Ceredigion

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 536-559. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 1,030 times.