Llanelli, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llanelli, Carmarthenshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlanelli

A guide to genealogy in Llanelli, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

For other places with a similar name see Llanelli

Llanelli is a town and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales. It is the largest town in the county.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

The redundant spelling of Llanelly can be seen is some older documents.

Contents

History

LLANELLY (LLAN-ELLI), an incorporated sea-port and market town, a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of CARNAWLLON, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH MILES, 15 miles (S.E. by S.) from Carmarthen, on the road to Swansea, and 216 (W. by N.) from London. This place, which appears to be of great antiquity, derives its name from its church being dedicated to St. Elliw. The town is situated on the northern bank of the Loughor river and though formerly described as a small and insignificant place, inhabited chiefly by sailors and persons employed in the adjacent coal-mines, has, from the convenience of its situation on a navigable river, and from the richness of the mineral productions of its vicinity in iron, coal, and limestone, risen into manufacturing and commercial importance, and is still rising rapidly in population and extent. The parish contains about twenty thousand acres, and is divided into five hamlets, called the Borough, Berwick, Glyn, Hengoed, and Westoac; about one third part of the land is arable, under the cultivation of wheat, barley, oats, and potatoes, and the remainder pasture and wood. There was a chapel in each of the five hamlets into which the parish is divided: of these, the chapel in the borough, the only one remaining entire, at present forms the chancel of the parish church. There are three places of worship for Baptists, and one each for Independents and Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

For more information on Llanelli see Llanelli at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464306.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,042 times.