Llanfair Trelygen, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.png Parishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlanfair Trelygen

A guide to genealogy in Llanfair Trelygen, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanfair Trelygen is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

LLANVAIR-TRÊLYGON (LLAN-VAIR-TRÊVHELYGEN), a parish in the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 3½ miles (N.E.) from Newcastle-Emlyn. This parish,which is situated in the southern part of the county, comprises but a small extent of arable and pasture land, which is in tolerable cultivation. The surrounding scenery is not distinguished by any peculiarity of features; and the adjacent country, though varied in appearance, is neither remarkable for picturesque beauty nor for objects of antiquarian interest, The church, dedicated to St. Mary, having been suffered to fall into decay for want of due repair, is now in ruins. On the north side of the church, and at no great distance from it, is a circular tumulus surrounded by a moat, which is said to have been formerly used as a place of defence; but nothing is recorded of any event of historical importance with which it was connected. There is a place of worship for Independents, with a Sunday school held in it.[1]

For more information see Llanfair Trelygen at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 115-124. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 724 times.