Llanfair Orllwyn, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llanfairorllwyn, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlanfair Orllwyn

A guide to genealogy in Llanfair Orllwyn, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanfair Orllwyn is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.



LLANVAIR ORLLWYN (LLAN-VAIR ORLLWYN), a parish in the upper division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 4 miles (E.) from Newcastle-Emlyn. This parish derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Mary, and its distinguishing adjunct from its situation in a richly wooded district in the south-western part of the county: the road from Newcastle-Emlyn to Lampeter passes through it. It comprehends an extensive tract of arable and pasture land, which, with the exception of a very inconsiderable portion, is enclosed and in a state of good cultivation. The surrounding scenery is richly diversified, and, in some parts, pleasingly picturesque; and the views from the higher grounds embrace some interesting features on the banks of the river Teivy, which flows near the parish. The church is a neat edifice, appropriately fitted up for the performance of divine service, but not possessing any important architectural details.[1]

For more information see Llanfair Orllwyn at genuki.


Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464304.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 115-124. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 897 times.