Llanfallteg, CarmarthenshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlanfallteg

A guide to genealogy in Llanfallteg, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanfallteg is a small village and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales. It is part of the community of Henllan Fallteg.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

LLANVALTEG (LLAN-FALLTEG), a parish, comprising two divisions, in the union of NARBERTH, of which one is in the lower division of the hundred of DERLLYS, county of CARMARTHEN, and the other in that of DUNGLEDDY, county of PEMBROKE, SOUTH WALES, 5 miles (N.E.) from Narberth. This parish is pleasantly situated on the turnpike-road from Narberth to Newcastle-Emlyn, near the right bank of the river Tâf and comprises a tract of land all inclosed, of which by far the greater part is in a state of cultivation: the portion in Carmarthen contains 1280 acres, of which 940 are arable, 314 pasture, and 26 woodland; and the portion in Pembroke contains 398 acres, of which 92 are arable, 294 pasture, and 12 wood. Stone for common building purposes is quarried. The church, which is dedicated to St. Mallteg, and situated in that division of the parish in the county of Pembroke, has been rebuilt and is a neat edifice.[1]

For more information on Llanfallteg see Llanfallteg at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 January 2014, at 18:38.
  • This page has been accessed 381 times.