Llanfihangel-ar-Arth, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlanfihangel-ar-Arth

A guide to genealogy in Llanfihangel-ar-Arth, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanfihangel-ar-Arth is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

LLANVIHANGEL-AR-ARTH, or YEROTH (LLAN-FIHANGEL-AR-ARTH), a parish, in the union of NEWCASTLE-EMLYN, higher division of the hundred of CATHINOG, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 12 miles (N. by E.) from Carmarthen. The parish is pleasantly situated on the river Teivy, over which the turnpike-road is continued by means of a handsome stone bridge. The surrounding scenery is pleasantly diversified, and in some parts highly picturesque; and the soil, though varying in different parts, is in general fertile. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, is situated on an eminence on the southern bank of the Teivy. The chapel of Pencader has been in ruins for nearly a century, but the cemetery is still entire. There are places of worship for Calvinistic Methodists, Baptists, and Independents.[1]

For more information on Llanfihangel-ar-Arth see Llanfihangel-ar-Arth at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464307.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,001 times.