Llanfihangel y Creuddyn, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.png Parishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlanfihangel y Creuddyn

A guide to genealogy in Llanfihangel y Creuddyn, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanfihangel y Creuddyn is a village and ancient ecclesiastical parish in the upper division of the Hundred of Ilar in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

The ecclesiastical parish was composed of the chapelry of Eglwys Newydd (or Llanfihangel y Creuddyn Uchaf) and the township of Llanfihangel y Creuddyn Isaf.

Today, the area is part of the community of Trawsgoed.

It has also been known as Lower Llanfihangel y Creuddyn, Lower Llanfihangel y Croyddin and Lower Llanfihangel y Croyddyn.

Contents

History

The lands of the parish were part of the Cistercian Abbey of Strata Florida originally established in 1164.

LLANVIHANGEL Y CREIDDYN (LLAN-VIHANGEL-Y-CREUDDYN), a parish in the upper division of the hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 7 miles (S. E.) from Aberystwith, on the road to Rhaiadr, comprising the chapelry of Eglwys-Newydd, or Llanvihangel y Creiddyn Uchâv, and the township of Llanvihangel y Creiddyn Isâv. This parish, which is situated on the river Ystwith, and intersected by various other streams, is eminently distinguished by scenery which is equally remarkable for picturesque beauty and strikingly romantic grandeur. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, is a neat structure, in the later style of English architecture. There are places of worship in the parish for Calvinistic Methodists, Wesleyans, and Baptists.[1]

For more information, see Llanfhihangel y Creuddyn at Genuki

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464303.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 129-147. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 January 2014, at 18:00.
  • This page has been accessed 661 times.