Llanfihangel Abercywyn, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlanfihangel Abercywyn

A guide to genealogy in Llanfihangel Abercywyn, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanfihangel Abercywyn is a small village and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

LLANVIHANGEL-ABERCOWIN (LLAN-FIHANGEL-ABER-CYWYN), a parish, in the higher division of the hundred of DERLLYS, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 9 miles (S.W. by W.) from Carmarthen. The parish derives its distingiuished appelation from its situation on the Cowin, near its confluence withm the Tâf and is intersected by the turnpike-road from Carmarthen to St. Clear's, from which it is distant about two miles and a half to the south-east. Within its limits is a village, forming a kind of suburb to St. Clear's, and it derives a considerable portion of traffic from the situation, and an air of cheerfulness and activity from the frequent passing of travellers. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, stands very near the confluence of the rivers, but is not distinguished by any architectural features. There are places of worship for Baptists and Welsh Calvinistic Methodists.[1]

For more information on Llanfihangel Abercywyn see Llanfihangel Abercywyn at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464309.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 745 times.