Llanfihangel Abergwesyn, BreconshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
LLANVIHANGEL-ABERGWESSIN (LLANFIHANGEL-ABER-GWESYN), a parish, in the union and hundred of Builth, county of Brecon, South Wales, 14 miles (W. by N.) from Builth. This parish derives its name from the dedication of its church, and its distinguishing appellation from its position near the mouth of the river Gwessin. It is separated from the parish of Llanddewi-Abergwessin by the river Irvon (the two churches being contiguous, on opposite banks), which forms its boundary on the south and south-west; and the parish is intersected by some small vales, distinguished for the picturesque beauty of their scenery. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, is a rude, primitive structure, not distinguished by any striking architectural features. There are two places of worship for Baptists, and one for Independents; in each of which is also held a Sunday school.
LLANFIHANGEL-ABERGWESSIN, a parish in the hundred of Builth, county Brecon, 12 miles N.W. of Builth, its post town, and 13 S.W. of Rhayader. It is situated at the foot of Drugarn Mountain, near the junction of the rivers Gwessin and Irvon. For more information see Llanfihangel Abergwesyn, Breconshire at Genuki.org.uk
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464299. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Maps and Gazetteers
- This page was last modified on 25 January 2014, at 23:14.
- This page has been accessed 159 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More