Llanfihangel Cilfargen, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlanfihangel Cilfargen

A guide to genealogy in Llanfihangel Cilfargen, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanfihangel Cilfargen is a small village and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

LLANVIHANGEL-KILFARGEN (LLANVIHANGEL-CIL-FARGEN), a parish, in the union of LLANDILO-VAWR, lower division of the hundred of CATHINOG, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 4 miles (W.N.W.) from Llandilo-Vawr. This place is situated about 1½ miles to the north of the road leading from Gloucester to Carmarthen. It is one of the smallest parishes in the county, comprising only 514 acres, of which about 185 are arable, 312 pasture, and the rest woodland, and containing but a few respectable farm-houses, with some cottages for labourers. The surface is hilly, and the scenery characterised rather by pleasing rural simplicity, than by any strong features of picturesque or romantic beauty; Kiddery hill skirts the parish on the west, and a brook of the same name, with another called Rhyd-y-wrach, runs through it. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, is a small plain edifice, rebuilt about the year 1822, at the sole expense of the Rev. Thomas Beynon, a former rector.[1]

For more information on Llanfihangel Cilfargen see Llanfihangel Cilfargen at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464307.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 604 times.