Llanfihangel Rhos-y-corn, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlanfihangel Rhos-y-corn

A guide to genealogy in Llanfihangel Rhos-y-corn, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanfihangel Rhos-y-corn is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

LLANMIHANGEL-RHÔSYCORN (LLAN-VIHANGEL-RHÔS-Y-CORN), a parish, in the union of LAMPETER, higher division of the hundred of CATHINOG, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 12 miles (N.E.) from Carmarthen. It is situated in the northern part of the county, and comprehends, in addition to a considerable portion of mountainous and waste land, a large tract of inclosed arable and pasture. The surrounding scenery is distinguished by features rather of a bold and striking character than of pleasing and picturesque appearance; and the views from the higher grounds embrace extensive, and in some cases interesting, prospects. A woolen manufacture is carried on upon a limited scale, affording employment to a small number of persons. The living is annexed to the vicarage of Llanllwny; the church is a small edifice, undistinguished by any architectural details; and occupies a dreary elevated position, remote from all habitations. There is a place of worship for the Independents.[1]

For more information on Llanfihangel Rhos-y-corn see Llanfihangel Rhos-y-corn at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464307.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 747 times.