Llanfihangel Ystrad, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlanfihangel Ystrad

A guide to genealogy in Llanfihangel Ystrad, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanfihangel Ystrad is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Dyffryn Aeron, Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

LLANVIHANGEL YSTRAD (LLAN-VIHANGEL YSTRAD), a parish in the upper division of the hundred of MOYTHEN, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 6 miles (N W.) from Lampeter, comprising the Upper and Lower divisions. This parish, which is pleasantly situated on the river Aêron and on the turnpike road front Lampeter to Aberystwith, is of considerable extent, reaching from the beautiful vale of Aêron almost to that of the Teivy, comprehending a rich variety of scenery, in many parts highly picturesque, and embracing, especially from the higher grounds, several interesting and extensive views of the surrounding country. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, is an ancient structure, consisting of a nave, and north and south aisles. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Unitarians; and two Sunday schools.[1]

For more information see Llanfihangel Ystrad at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464304.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 129-147. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 419 times.