Llangadog, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlangadog

A guide to genealogy in Llangadog, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llangadog is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

The community also includes the villages of Bethlehem and Capel Gwynfe.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

The redundant spelling of Llangadock can be seen in some older documents.



LLANGADOCK (LLAN-GADOG-FAWR), a market-town and parish, comprising the hamlets of Above-Sawdde, Dyfryn-Cydrich, and Gwynve, in the union of LLANDOVERY, lower division of the hundred of PERVERTH, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 21 miles (E.N.E.) from Carmarthen; and 188 (W. by N.) from London. This parish, which derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Cadog, is of very remote antiquity. The TOWN is beautifully situated between the rivers Brân and Sawdde, over the former of which it has a neat stone bridge of three elliptic arches. It consists principally of one spacious street, containing several well built houses of respectable appearance, and is abundantly supplied with water, but neither paved nor lighted. The parish contains coal, limestone, and lead and iron ores, the two former of which are wrought on a moderate scale. The PARISH contains 22,642 a. 3 r. 7 p., of which, by computation, 7000 acres are common, and, by admeasurement, 6812 a. 3 r. 7 p. arable, 8000 pasture and meadow, and 830 woodland; the soil is a good loam, and the chief produce, wheat, barley, and oats. In the hamlet of Gwynve is an endowed chapel, in the gift of the Vicar of Llangadock. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Calvinistic Methodists.[1]

For more information on Llangadog see Llangadog at Genuki.


Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire


Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464307.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,072 times.