Llangar, DenbighshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llangar, Merionethshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngDenbighshireGotoarrow.pngLlangar

Llangar parish church
Llangar is a rural village and ecclesiastical parish, near Corwen in Denbighshire, Wales. The village is part of the Edeirnion district and today forms part of the community of Cynwyd.

The ancient parish was divided into the townships of Llangar, Cymer and Gwnodl. The township of Gwnodle was detached from the rest of the parish.

In 1854 the townships of Cynwyd Fawr, Cynwyd Fechan and Bodheulog were transferred to the parish of Llangar from the parish of Gwyddelwern. The 13th century parish church of All Saints in Llangar was abandoned in favour of the new church of St. John the Evangelist, which was built in the village of Cynwyd.

Although the old parish church at Llangar fell into disrepair, it has now been restored and is managed by CADW.

The area is predominantly Welsh-speaking.

Contents

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Merionethshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Denbighshire

Records

Civil Records

Births, marriages and deaths in Llangar will be recorded in the GRO indexes as:

Years Sub-district District Volumes
1 Jul 1837 - 30 Sep 1935 Gwyddelwern Corwen XXVII (1837-51)
11b (1852-1935)
1 Oct 1935 - 1974 Corwen Merioneth East 11b (1935-46)
8C (1946-74)

Church Records

  • The original Llangar Parish Registers, from 1614 to 1848 (but with gaps), have been deposited at the Meirionnydd Archive in Dolgellau.
  • The Clwyd Family History Society have published several volumes of the Llangar parish registers.
  • There are no official records available on the IGI for Llangar parish.

Nonconformist Church Records

 

Census Records

The parish of Llangar formed part of the Corwen Registrar's District.

Poor Law Union Records

Llangar formed part of the Corwen Union which was created on 13 December 1836. A workhouse was built at Corwen, but not completed until April 1840.

The records for the Corwen Union are held at the Meirionnydd Record Office in Dolgellau.

Web Sites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 May 2013, at 13:50.
  • This page has been accessed 1,232 times.