Llangattock, BreconshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
LLANGATTOCK (LLAN-GATWG), a parish, in the union and hundred of Crickhowel, county of Brecknock, South Wales, 1 mile (S. S. W.) from Crickhowel. This parish, which forms a part of the beautiful vale of Crickhowel, derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Catwg, or Cadoc the Wise, an eminent British saint, who flourished in the sixth century. It is situated on the southern bank of the river Usk. The church is an ancient structure, in the decorated style of English architecture, with a remarkably strong embattled tower at the west end. There are places of worship for Calvinistic Methodists, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, and Independents.
Also spelled Llangatwg. LLANGATTOCK, a parish in the hundred of Crickhowoll, county Brecon, 1 mile W. of Crickhowell, its post town, and 11 miles S.E. of Brecknock. It is situated on the banks of the river Usk, opposite the town of Crickhowell, a bridge connecting the two parishes. The Brecon canal passes through this parish, which includes the parcels of Penallt, Prisk, and Kille. Brynmawr parish was formed out of Llangatwg and Llanelli parishes in 1875. For more information see Llangatwg, Breconshire at Genuki.org.uk
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464299. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Maps and Gazetteers
- This page was last modified on 28 January 2014, at 22:27.
- This page has been accessed 208 times.