Llangennech, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llangennech, Carmarthenshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlangennech

A guide to genealogy in Llangennech, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llangennech is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

LLANGENNECH (LLAN-GENNECH), a parish, in the union of LLANELLY, hundred of CARNAWLLON, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 4 miles (E.N.E.) from Llanelly. This parish is situated on the western margin of the river Loughor, by which it is separated from the county of Glamorgan; and is intersected by the rivulet called Morlais, a tributary to that stream, and also by the turnpike-road from Swansea to Llanelly. The surface is varied; the lands for the greater part are inclosed and cultivated, and the soil is generally fertile. Coal of very superior quality, which obtains a high price in the London market, is found in the parish; and works upon an extensive scale have been established by the Llangennech Coal Company. The church is dedicated to St. Gwynog. There are places of worship for Independents and the Baptists.[1]

For more information on Llangennech see Llangennech at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464306.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 788 times.