Llangoedmor, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llangoedmawr, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.png Parishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlangoedmor

A guide to genealogy in Llangoedmor, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llangoedmor is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

The redundant spellings of Llangoedmawr and Llangoedmore can be seen in older documents.

Contents

History

LLANGOEDMORE (LLAN-GOEDMAWR), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 2 miles (E.) from Cardigan. The name of this place, signifying " the church of the great wood,", is derived from its situation in a district abounding with timber of ancient and luxuriant growth, and with groves of stately oaks and other trees, for the number and beauty of which the immediate vicinity is eminently distinguished. Soon after the death Henry I, a memorable battle was fought near Crûg Mawr, a conical hill in this parish, between the Welsh, commanded by Grufydd ab Rhys and the English, in which the latter sustained a signal defeat. The parish is pleasantly situated on the river Teivy, on the turnpike road from Cardigan to Newcastle-Emlyn. The church, dedicated to St. Cynllo, was entirely rebuilt in the year 1830, and is a neat structure in the later style of English architecture, consisting of a nave and chancel, with an elegant little tower of two stages, rising from the centre of the nave, and surmounted by a delicate and finely proportioned spire. In the parish are, two places of worship for Baptists, in each of which a Sunday school is also held.[1]

For more information see Llangoedmor at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 36-47. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 490 times.