Llangunnor, CarmarthenshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlangunnor

A guide to genealogy in Llangunnor, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llangunnor (Welsh: Llangynnwr) is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

LLANGUNNOR (LLAN-GYNNOR), a parish, comprising the Upper and Lower divisions in the hundred of KIDWELLY, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 1 mile (E.) from Carmarthen. This parish is beautifully situated on the river Towy, by which it is separated from the borough of Carmarthen; and is traversed by the great turnpike-road from that town, through Golden Grove, to Llandilo-Vawr; by the mail-road to Swansea; and by another turnpike-road to the same place, passing through Kidwelly and Llanelly and comprises, according to computation, 5770 acres, of which 1400 are arable, 4200 pasture, and 170 woodland. The lands, with the exception of a small portion, are inclosed and cultivated; and the soil, though varied, is generally fertile, producing wheat, barley, oats, clover, and hay. The church, dedicated to St. Cynyr, is a neat edifice, appropriately fitted up for the performance of divine service, and, though possessing no architectural details of importance, derives from its beautiful situation an interesting and romantic appearance. There are places of worship for Independents and Calvinistic Methodists. [1]

For more information on Llangunnor see Llangunnor at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 January 2014, at 23:33.
  • This page has been accessed 419 times.