Llangybi, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llangybi, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlangybi

A guide to genealogy in Llangybi, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llangybi is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.



LLANGYBY (LLAN-GYBI), a parish in the upper division of the hundred of MOYTHEN, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 4¼ miles (N.N.E.) from Lampeter, on the road to Trêgaron. The lands are in general enclosed and in a good state of cultivation, and the soil is tolerably fertile. The church, dedicated to St. Cybi, is a small edifice, consisting only of a nave and chancel. There are places of worship for Independents and Presbyterians: the latter is supposed to be the most ancient congregation of dissenters in the principality, having first assembled here about the year 1663.[1]

For more information see Llangybi at Genuki.


Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 56-69. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 738 times.