Llangyndeyrn, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlangyndeyrn

A guide to genealogy in Llangyndeyrn, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llangyndeyrn is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in the Gwendraeth valley in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

The community also includes the cillages of Carwe, Meinciau, Pum Heol, Crwbin and Pontantwn, and part of Pontyates.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

The redundant spelling of Llangendeirne can be see in some older documents.

Contents

History

LLANGENDEIRN (LLAN-GYNDEYRN), a parish, in the hundred of KIDWELLY, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 5 miles (S.E.) from Carmarthen, on the road through Llannon to Swansea. The lands are, with the exception of a very small portion, inclosed and in a good state of cultivation; and the substratum of the soil consists of various valuable minerals, chiefly, coal, iron, and limestone, the procuring of which affords employment to many of the inhabitants. The church, dedicated to St. Cyndeyrn, is a spacious and plain edifice; and the churchyard is one of the finest and most agreeably situated in the country. There are two places of worship for Independents, two for Baptists, and one for Calvinistic Methodists, and one for Wesleyans.[1]

For more information on Llangyndeyrn see Llangyndeyrn at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464311.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 671 times.