Llangynllo, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llangynllo, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlangynllo

A guide to genealogy in Llangynllo, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llangynllo is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales. It is in community of Troedyraur.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

LLANGUNLLO (LLAN-GYNLLO), a parish in the upper division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR , county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 3½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Newcastle-Emlyn. This parish, which derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Cynllo, is pleasantly situated on the turnpike road from Cardigan through Troedyr-awr to Lampeter, and nearly the whole of it is enclosed and in a good state of cultivation. The soil, though varying with the surface, which is finely undulated, and in some parts rises into bold eminences, is in general fertile. The surrounding country is pleasingly varied, and the scenery in many parts is highly picturesque. The upper grounds command some extensive and interesting prospects, and from the eminence on which the church is built is obtained a fine view over the beautiful vale above which stands the mansion of Bronwydd. There is a place of worship for Independents, with a Sunday school.[1]

For more information see Llangynlloat Genuki

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 47-55. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 January 2014, at 18:54.
  • This page has been accessed 378 times.