Llangunnor, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A guide to genealogy in Llangunnor, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
LLANGUNNOR (LLAN-GYNNOR), a parish, comprising the Upper and Lower divisions in the hundred of KIDWELLY, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 1 mile (E.) from Carmarthen. This parish is beautifully situated on the river Towy, by which it is separated from the borough of Carmarthen; and is traversed by the great turnpike-road from that town, through Golden Grove, to Llandilo-Vawr; by the mail-road to Swansea; and by another turnpike-road to the same place, passing through Kidwelly and Llanelly and comprises, according to computation, 5770 acres, of which 1400 are arable, 4200 pasture, and 170 woodland. The lands, with the exception of a small portion, are inclosed and cultivated; and the soil, though varied, is generally fertile, producing wheat, barley, oats, clover, and hay. The church, dedicated to St. Cynyr, is a neat edifice, appropriately fitted up for the performance of divine service, and, though possessing no architectural details of importance, derives from its beautiful situation an interesting and romantic appearance. There are places of worship for Independents and Calvinistic Methodists. 
For more information on Llangunnor see Llangunnor at Genuki.
|before 31 March 1974||Carmarthenshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Dyfed|
|from 1 April 1996||Carmarthenshire|
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Llangunnor at Vision of Britain.
- This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
- This page has been accessed 976 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News