Llanilar, CeredigionEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A guide to genealogy in Llanilar, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
Llanilar is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.
LLANILAR (LLAN-ILAR), a parish consisting of the Upper and Lower divisions, each separately maintaining its poor, in the upper division of the hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 6 miles (S.S.E.) from Aberystwith. This parish, which derives its name from the dedication of its church, is pleasantly situated on the southern bank of the river Ystwyth, and near the high road from Aberystwith to Cardigan. The church, dedicated to St. Hilary, and pleasantly situated on the bank of the river, is a low ancient structure in good repair, with a square massive tower at the west end; the body consists of a nave and chancel, formerly separated by an old carved screen of elegant design, which has been removed. There is a place of worship for Calvinistic Methodists.
For more information see Llanilar at Genuki.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464303. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Maps and Gazetteers
- Llanilar at Vision of Britain
- This page was last modified on 21 January 2014, at 19:00.
- This page has been accessed 221 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More