Llanilar, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlanilar

A guide to genealogy in Llanilar, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanilar is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

LLANILAR (LLAN-ILAR), a parish consisting of the Upper and Lower divisions, each separately maintaining its poor, in the upper division of the hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 6 miles (S.S.E.) from Aberystwith. This parish, which derives its name from the dedication of its church, is pleasantly situated on the southern bank of the river Ystwyth, and near the high road from Aberystwith to Cardigan. The church, dedicated to St. Hilary, and pleasantly situated on the bank of the river, is a low ancient structure in good repair, with a square massive tower at the west end; the body consists of a nave and chancel, formerly separated by an old carved screen of elegant design, which has been removed. There is a place of worship for Calvinistic Methodists.[1]

For more information see Llanilar at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464303.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 69-75. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 492 times.