Llanllwch, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llanllwch, Carmarthenshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngLlanllwch

A guide to genealogy in Llanllwch, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanllwch is a hamlet in Carmarthenshire, Wales. It contains an ancient chapelry'

Before 1974 the hamlet was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

History

In 1844: "Of the five churches which formerly existed [in the town of Carmarthen], only those of St Peter and Llanllwch are remaining; the others, not being used for sacred purposes, have long since been suffered to fall into decay... The church or chapel of Llanllwch is not distinguished by any remarkable architectural features: the living is a perpetual curacy, in the patronage of the Vicar of St. Peter's; net income £108... near Llanlwch are some remains of an extensive encampment; and an entrenchment on a smaller scale, which was probably thrown up during the great civil war, may be seen in a field near the gas-works...". [1]

For more information see Llanllwch at Genuki.

References

  1. A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (S. Lewis, 1844)

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 444 times.